I Wish…

… I could pray away the pain in our church.

… I could mentor every young boy in our church.

… I could be a good friend to everyone in our church.

… I could give more money to the needy in our church.

… I could help more folks find affordable housing in our church.

… I could spend more time with the children in our church.

… I could heal all the struggling families/marriages in our church.

… I could be the person to call for those with an addiction in our church.

… I could help single parents with some babysitting in our church.

… I could connect young, struggling mothers to each other in our church.

… I could spend hours/week with the handicapped in our church.

… I could help the unemployed find work in our church.

… I could visit every new baby in our church.

… I could visit every ailing relative in our church.

… I could create a family atmosphere for those without families in our church.

… I could encourage, affirm, and showcase all the artistic talents of people in our church.

… I could introduce quality single people to other quality single people in our church.

… I could spend lots of time with people living in markedly different cultures and neighborhoods in our church.

… I could think of all the ways that people can live out their faith at work in our church.

… I could pray away all the needs in our church.

But I can’t.

But perhaps WE can?

2 responses to “I Wish…

  1. William J. Green

    … I could pray away the pain in our church. NO YOU CAN’T. NOBODY CAN.

    … I could mentor every young boy in our church. NO YOU CAN’T. VIRTUALLY PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE. NOT EVERY YOUNG BOY WOULD WISH FOR A MENTOR THOUGH MANY WOULD.

    … I could be a good friend to everyone in our church. NO YOU CAN’T. VIRTUALLY PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE.

    … I could give more money to the needy in our church. YOU CAN IF YOU CHOOSE TO DO WITH LESS FOR YOU AND YOUR BRIDE.

    … I could help more folks find affordable housing in our church. YOU CAN’T BUT YOU COULD REFER THEM TO A GREAT REALTOR. BUT THOSE WITH POOR CREDIT AND/OR LITTLE INCOME WON’T QUALIFY FOR MORTGAGES.

    … I could spend more time with the children in our church. YOU CAN IN EXCHANGE FOR SPENDING LESS TIME ELSEWHERE.

    … I could heal all the struggling families/marriages in our church. YOU CAN’T. NO ONE CAN. BUT YOU COULD REFER THEM TO MARRIAGE & FAMILY COUNSELING WITH THE UNDERSTANDING THAT THERE IS NO PANACEA.

    … I could be the person to call for those with an addiction in our church. YOU COULD BUT IT WOULD SERIOUSLY DETRACT FROM OTHER THINGS YOU’RE DOING. BUT YOU COULD DESIGNATE SOMEONE ELSE AS THE GO-TO PERSON WITH A LONG REFERRAL LIST.

    … I could help single parents with some babysitting in our church. YOU COULD HELP A FEW SINGLE PARENTS BUT YOU’D BE BETTER OFF DESIGNATING SOMEONE TO HEAD UP A BABYSITTING SERVICE.

    … I could connect young, struggling mothers to each other in our church. YOU CAN. AT THE EXPENSE OF OTHER THINGS. BUT YOU COULD BETTER CHARGE THE SINGLE PARENTS MINISTRY (IS IT STILL FUNCTIONING?) TO DO SO.

    … I could spend hours/week with the handicapped in our church. YOU COULD. AND YOU’D DO WELL TO DO SO. THE JEWELS IN YOUR CROWN PROMISE TO BE SUBSTANTIAL. IF YOU CHOOSE NOT TO, YOU COULD CALL FOR VOLUNTEERS TO DO SO.

    … I could help the unemployed find work in our church. YOU COULD, BUT NOT WITH MUCH SUCCESS. TAX-CHEATING TREASURY SECRETARY TIMOTHY GEITHNER SUGGESTED TODAY THAT UNEMPLOYMENT IS LIKELY TO CREEP UP AND NOT DOWN IN THE NEAR FUTURE. ENCOURAGE PEOPLE TO START THEIR OWN BUSINESSES.

    … I could visit every new baby in our church. PROBABLY PHYSICALLY IMPOSSIBLE. BUT IT’D BE FUN TRYING. PERHAPS JUST COMMIT TO VISITING BABIES BORN TO SINGLE PARENTS ONCE IN THE NEXT YEAR.

    … I could visit every ailing relative in our church. YOU LIKELY CAN’T. BUT YOU COULD VISIT VERY AILING FAMILY MEMBER OF THOSE DIRECTLY UNDER YOUR SUPERVISION. FOR THE REST YOU COULD CALL FOR VOLUNTEERS FOR A SICK AND SHUT-INS MINISTRY.

    … I could create a family atmosphere for those without families in our church. HASN’T IT BEEN CLAIMED THAT NLF IS A FAMILY AND THAT SUNDAY MORNINGS ARE THE FAMILY LIVING ROOM?

    … I could encourage, affirm, and showcase all the artistic talents of people in our church. IT IS BEING DONE TO AN APPRECIABLE DEGREE. WITH TIME AND PATIENCE MORE CAN BE DONE. IT LIKELY WILL.

    … I could introduce quality single people to other quality single people in our church. YOU CERTAINLY CAN AND LIKELY SHOULD. A SIMPLE VERBAL INTRODUCTION AND AN ENCOURAGEMENT TO “GRAB LUNCH” MAY SUFFICE. INSIST ON NO “ANDS, IF, OR BUT’S.” THEN BUTT OUT.

    … I could spend lots of time with people living in markedly different cultures and neighborhoods in our church. YOU CAN’T. BUT YOU CAN KEEP VISITING SMALL GROUPS ON OCCASION. ENCOURAGE OTHERS TO DO LIKEWISE.

    … I could think of all the ways that people can live out their faith at work in our church. YOU CAN’T. NO ONE CAN. BUT THE THREE OR FOUR WAYS YOU’VE THOUGHT OF THUS FAR CAN BE REPEATED REGULARLY.

    … I could pray away all the needs in our church. YOU CAN’T. NO ONE CAN. BUT PRAY ANYWAY.

  2. I know this is serious, and I echo what you say …. but I can’t fight the urge to say, “yes we can”.

Leave a Reply

