Regrets and the Love of God

I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way…

There’s so much change happening in our lives that it’s impossible to ignore some of the dizzying emotions I feel.

On the horizon, we have a new addition to our family coming this winter, a new vocational setting to get accustomed to, and a different rhythm to our lives than we’ve ever had.

As someone who already tends toward over-introspection (I still mull over how I fumbled in the game-winning drive during our homecoming game against Palisades my senior year of high school), it’s easy for emotions like fear, anger, and regretfulness to flood my heart in times of change.  This is not to say that any of these emotions are bad – they’re just different and therefore require another set of tools to be able to process and move through.

Specifically, I’m thinking about regrets this morning, mostly because there’s a rabbit trail I can easily follow when it comes to regrets.

I should have done this, or I shouldn’t have said that, or things could be different if…

If you find yourself down this rabbit trail long enough there’s some serious mental hurdles to fight through.

Perfectionism can breed this kind of thinking, and it can often teeter near the threshold toward self-loathing instead of self-improvement, pummeling people into an abyss of doubt, hurt, and anger.

As a recovering perfectionist, I know there must come a time when I can turn off the voices of regret, as voluminous as they might be, and tune to the music of something else.

Or Someone else, I should say.

It’s the Voice of Someone who tells me that the past is past and the present is now.  It’s the Voice of Someone who soothes the butterflies within and speaks of an unbelievable hope of tomorrow.  It’s the Voice of Someone who is so loving and affirming that I actually believe that He will make beautiful things out of the very regrets I carry.

I don’t have time to maintain these regrets when I think about the way…

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. 12 Then you will call on me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you. 13 You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all your heart.

– Jeremiah 29:11-13

18 There is no room in love for fear. Well-formed love banishes fear. Since fear is crippling, a fearful life—fear of death, fear of judgment—is one not yet fully formed in love.

– 1 John 4:18

5 responses to “Regrets and the Love of God

  1. You truly have a pastoral heart, Drew. All your posts are educational, comforting, or inspiring. Or all of the above. I needed to hear this today. Thanks.

  2. Thanks D for this timely entry.

  3. thanks, meghan. it’s a message i need to tell myself regularly, too. and jose, looking forward to catching up in a few days…

  4. so what happened with the fumble? did you get the ball back?

Leave a Reply

