Meet Paul Lim

During a recent visit to Nashville, I was able to spend a couple of hours with Paul Lim, a man who has had a significant impact on my life as a professor, pastor, and friend.

I've learned a lot from this man.

I’ve learned a lot from this man.

My times with him are always enriching… and hilarious.

Anyhow, I wanted to take the time to congratulate him for recently receiving the prestigious Bainton Book Prize for his book, Mystery Unveiled: The Crisis of the Trinity in Early Modern England.  This review by Scott Clark goes into more detail about the book and its significance.  Very cool.

In addition to Paul’s many contributions to the academy, he’s also taught me a few other things:

1.  Pursuit of Excellence – Whether it was playing Paul in ping pong (he’s amazing) or listening to his theology lectures, I’ve really appreciated the effort Paul puts into whatever he does.  Paul’s verve for excellence really shows how much he cares, and as a student who would comb over his well-prepared notes, I really felt like he cared about me by his meticulous preparation.

2.  Humility – I think he’d probably laugh at this, but Paul is someone whose humility I really respect.  The dude is mad gifted and mad accomplished, but I’ve never met anyone as introspective as him when it comes to the motives of his heart.

3.  Being Who I Am – I don’t know how else to explain this, but Paul has taught me a lot about being who I am.  Paul models this well, in my opinion.  He is unabashedly who he is, and it’s really refreshing to be around.  But he’s also been able to point things out about me at different points in my journey that have been helpful in discovering who I truly am… in Christ.

I am so grateful for Paul in my life, and I’m excited to see his recent work get recognized (and I can’t wait to see how else God will use him in the future)!

One response to “Meet Paul Lim

  1. Love Dr. Lim! His classes were tough, but I couldn’t stop taking them. So appreciated his scholarship, passion, and pastor’s heart.

Leave a Reply

